nanaxworldof.blogg.se

Bernstein sibelius 5
Bernstein sibelius 5











bernstein sibelius 5

I’m a big fan of the Quatuor Ebène, and already had the pleasure of seeing them live some years ago. Beethoven Complete String Quartets by the Quatuor Ebène Both his Beethoven and the Sibelius give a very fresh take on these concertos.

bernstein sibelius 5

He really is one of the best violin players of our era, and probably also somewhat underrated.

Bernstein sibelius 5 full#

Both the recordings of Martin Helmchen with Andrew Manze as conductor, and this recording with Christian Tetzlaff under Robin Ticciati both show the full potential of this orchestra.īetween Helmchen’s now complete Beethoven cycle (I reviewed one volume here), and this new recording of the violin concerto by Tetzlaff, I’m highlighting Tetzlaff here. I must admit, this second or third (depending on how you rank) orchestra of Berlin always flew a bit under my radar, behind the Berlin Philharmonic and the Staatskapelle Berlin. In this Beethoven year, two German artists recorded excellent versions of the Beethoven classics, both with the Deutsches Sinfonieorchester Berlin. Beethoven and Sibelius Violin Concertos – Christian Tetzlaff I love Brahms’ late piano pieces, and this is a worthy addition to the top recordings of these works, alongside Arkadi Volodos. Brahms Late Solo Piano Works by Stephen Hough And it won the Gramophone Album of the Year in its category, which was well deserved. But what can I say, this new album with the Royal Scottish National Orchestra under Elim Chan is just great (see my original review here). Yes, Benjamin Grosvenor regularly gets 5 stars on this blog, guilty as charged. Chopin’s Piano Concertos by Benjamin Grosvenor (Decca 2020) Interestingly, less Beethoven than I’d have expected in here. I got lucky, I attended two socially distanced concerts during the times when Covid in Europe was still at lower levels, both involving Beethoven by the way (Igor Levit playing some piano sonatas, and Lars Vogt playing the 4th piano concerto with Paavo Järvi).īut without further ado, let’s jump right into it and list my top 5 classical albums of the year. We certainly got a lot of new album releases, but we clearly didn’t have the live concerts we all wished for. It was supposed to be the big Beethoven anniversary year, with concerts all over the world and a lot of new album releases. I don’t need to tell anybody that 2020 was a weird year to say the least.













Bernstein sibelius 5